UK Farthings

If you are looking to identify a farthing variety, please use the following process

  1. Identify the reign of the monarch from the date of the coin and select the appropriate monarch on the drop down menu or buttons below

  2. Then check the design types detailed below to determine which design type you have (this will result in a number and letter combination…for example Obverse 1 & Reverse B). This is the major design type classification.

  3. Then select the date for the coin you have on the drop down menu to see farthing images and a list of Obverse and Reverse die minor varieties. At the bottom of each page is a list of the known die combinations which also includes proof and pattern types where known.

  4. If you have a type that does not fit into any of the categories above, Contact Me for further information


Elizabeth II – (1953 – 1956)

George VI – (1937 – 1952)

Edward VIII – (1937)

George V – (1911 – 1936)

Edward VII – (1902 – 1910)

Victoria – (1837 – 1901)

William IV – (1831 – 1837)

George IV – (1820 – 1830)

George III – (1760 – 1820)